rtp slot judi bola slot dana slot deposit dana https://germantools.lat/ https://mrj.co.il/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://nsw1.go.th/sbobet/ https://arpenrj.org.br/judi-bola/ https://opportunitymonkey.com/ https://sbobet-bola.powerappsportals.com/ https://www.divadiamondsjewelry.com/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://www.divadiamondsjewelry.com/slot-dana/ https://ambonekspres.com/ https://bonus-slot-100.powerappsportals.com/ https://www.divadiamondsjewelry.com/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://escaperoomtarragona.com/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://fd-osteolyon.fr/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://devsamurai.vn/depo-10-ribu/ https://mitrabusinesssolution.com/slot-bonus/ https://www.nuestramirada.org/ https://www.divadiamondsjewelry.com/slot-dana/ https://www.thehibachiexpress.com/ https://thailandalive.com/ https://www.anetamak.com/ https://fd-osteolyon.fr/depo-25-bonus-25/ https://sharkthewaterworld.com/ slot gacor gampang menang https://www.gyroshouston.com/ rtp live slot

Are Pizza Bases Vegan, Dairy-Free, Or Egg Free?

Are you changing your diet and wondering what you now can and can’t eat? Perhaps you have discovered you have an allergy or intolerance and now can’t eat egg or dairy?

Or maybe you have decided to incorporate more plant-based meals and want to know if you can still enjoy pizza? Whatever your reason might be, we have the answer for you!

When it comes to finding vegan, dairy-free, or egg-free food, you can find yourself reading a lot of ingredient lists and still not being sure what the best option is.

You find yourself panicking and wondering if you are about to miss out on eating your favorite foods or not.

Well, no more! Today we are here with all the answers you need. Keep reading to find out if pizza bases are vegan, dairy-free, or egg-free and how to create a fantastic vegan pizza! 

Are Pizza Bases Vegan, Dairy-free, Or Egg-free? 

Are Pizza Bases Vegan, Dairy-free, Or Egg-free 

Pizza bases tend to be vegan, yes, meaning they are also free of dairy and egg. Anyone following a vegan lifestyle would not eat eggs or dairy products as they are by-products of an animal.

Veganism focuses on not consuming animal products or byproducts due to various factors, such as the abuse of animals and the impact on the environment. 

Experienced vegans or those trying to eat more plant-based will tell you how challenging it can be to scan through ingredients and ensure that it’s safe to eat.

It’s also surprising to see what food dairy is added to! But you can rejoice and enjoy pizza bases as they are vegan, dairy-free, and egg-free! 

Now that we have established that most pizza bases are vegan and free from animal byproducts let’s take a closer look at the ingredients used in pizza bases. 

Ingredients In A Pizza Base

Typical pizza bases are vegan and will contain flour, yeast, salt, and water. You can also add sugar and oil, but these tend to be optional ingredients.

Now not every pizza base will follow this list of ingredients, so it’s always best to check when buying pre-made pizza bases or pizzas what has been included. 

When making the base yourself, you have far more control and can ensure that the base is free from animal by-products!

In cases where the base is made in a factory or restaurant, you might need to consider cross-contamination.

If items other than pizza bases are made there, you might find animal byproducts or residue nearby or using the same surfaces on which the base was made. 

In these cases, any pre-made base or pizza will have a ‘may contain’ warning for eggs, dairy, or other products. In these cases, we suggest those with allergies do not purchase the product.

You should speak to the manufacturer for more information and make your decision from there. However, most vegans will still purchase the item as the chance of cross-contamination is small.

We are seeing more and more businesses using separate utensils, workspaces, and gloves when preparing vegan dishes and items.

Hopefully, we will see more of this in the future, and fewer ‘may contain’ warnings. 

As we mentioned earlier, oil can be added to the pizza dough, and this is done to make the dough chewier and is fine for vegans to do so.

However, in some cases, melted butter will be added instead to add fat to the dough. If you are making your pizza, opt for a plant-based butter that will be egg-free and dairy-free by default.

If you are purchasing a pizza while out, check the ingredient list to ensure no butter has been used in the base. 

Now that we have covered the ingredient list let’s delve a little deeper into the world of vegan pizza bases. 

What’s The Deal With Yeast? Is It Vegan? 

Yeast is a vital ingredient in pizza bases and is known as a fungal organism, and it falls into the same category as mushrooms and is neither a plant or an animal.

You might see online jokes claiming that yeast is not vegan as the fungal organism is living; however, there is much debate about this. 

Most vegans will eat yeast as they eat mushrooms (a staple in tons of vegan recipes).

You will find that extremely strict vegans might not eat yeast, but for most following the plant-based lifestyle, yeast is fine to eat. 

What Vegan Toppings Can I Use?

What Vegan Toppings Can I Use

Now that we have covered that the pizza base is vegan (and what non-vegan ingredients you will need to watch out for are), let’s look at the toppings you can put on your vegan pizza!

As the toppings are vegan, they will naturally be dairy-free and egg-free, but you might want to check the ingredient list for any cross-contamination while it was manufactured. 

The same applies when eating pizza out. Speak to staff at the restaurant about any allergies or dietary requirements.

To minimize the risk, you will want your pizza to be prepared and cooked separately so there is no chance of any traces on your pizza that could cause you harm. 

So what toppings can you have?


The first topping is your sauce, and you will be pleased to know there is plenty of choices when it comes to selecting your sauce.

You can go with a classic Marinara sauce made with tomatoes, garlic, oregano, and oil.

Olives and anchovies are sometimes added, but this is entirely optional. You can buy the sauce premade (remember to check the ingredients), or you can make the sauce yourself; it’s really easy to do! 

If you don’t want a tomato-based pizza sauce, you could opt for a BBQ sauce base. Most BBQ sauces are vegan, but we would double-check these before buying them.

You will be surprised where milk is added, causing chaos for vegans and those with lactose intolerances! 

Other options include pureed beetroot, vegan pesto, or hummus. Be careful with hummus as sometimes milk powder is added to flavored hummus.

Traditional hummus is vegan (and naturally dairy and egg-free), but it’s best to check the ingredient list of anything you aren’t making yourself! 

All of these sauce options will give the pizza a different taste. If you have only ever had tomato-based pizzas before, why not try something new and add hummus to your pizza instead?

You might surprise yourself and find a fantastic new pizza base to enjoy! 

Apply these sauces directly to your pizza base before adding any toppings. 


Next, you can add your toppings. Some people like to add the toppings before the cheese so that the cheese melts over it. You can do this too if you wish, or add the cheese first, then the toppings.

We have a whole section dedicated to cheese coming up, so be sure to stick around for that!

When it comes to your toppings, you have a fantastic range to choose from! You could start with some vegan meat, as these will also be dairy-free and egg-free.

Lately, there’s been a huge influx of these entering the market, so you can add chicken, ham, pepperoni, salami, beef, or any other meats you would usually add! 

These meats will be completely vegan and free from dairy and egg so that you can enjoy them worry-free! Be sure to check the ingredient list and for any cross-contamination.

As the ingredients are listed vegan, you should be okay, but it’s best to check! When eating at a restaurant, be sure to ask for a list of vegan and allergy-friendly toppings. 

You can choose from a range of vegetables too; our favorites to add are red onion, peppers, sweetcorn, and mushrooms.

Other popular toppings include artichokes, zucchini, tomatoes, and capers. Anything vegan can be added, and you won’t need to worry about dairy or egg being on the pizza too! 

That said, if you are just looking for a dairy or egg-free alternative, you could add meat to the pizza if you wish.

You would have more topping choices and add what you want; after all, you are making the pizza, so why not enjoy it? 

Remember if you are purchasing the pizza from a store to check the ingredients list. It will state whether any toppings contain dairy or egg, so you know which to avoid!

You will also want to speak to the servers when ordering a pizza at a restaurant.

Check that the toppings are not only dairy and egg-free but free from any cross-contamination risks too! Those with severe allergies will want to ensure that they are safe to eat. 

Vegan Cheese – Yay Or Nay? 

Finally, we have come to the cheese. The topping that can make or break a pizza! In some cases, you can omit cheese entirely.

The marinara base is super tasty (the hummus) and can be enjoyed without the cheese if you wish! For those wanting a vegan and dairy-free pizza, you will need to change the cheese you use. 

Before, vegan cheese options were very limited and didn’t taste the best. But thanks to the recent popularity veganism is experiencing; there are tons of choices out there!

Most of these cheeses are made with plant fats, coconut being a popular choice to replicate the cheesy texture we all love.

The taste of these cheeses does vary, and if you are new to the world of vegan cheese, it can be a case of trial and error to find the right one for you.

But don’t panic; your ideal dairy-free cheese is out there!

We recommend looking for those that melt well. The last thing you want is some patches of cheese on your pizza that haven’t melted properly!

Some vegan cheese can stick to the roof of your mouth, too, so be mindful of that. It’s always worth checking out reviews of the cheese you are considering before making your purchase. 

If you are new to the world of vegan cheese, it can be a bit of a shock, especially if you were cheese made beforehand!

You might want to consider going cheese-free for a while and gradually re-introducing vegan cheese to your diet. It’s less of a taste shock this way and gives you time to find a cheese that you like!

For those that are dairy-free, vegan cheese is a good option for you too!

Some lactose-free cheeses won’t have dairy, but it’s best to check the ingredients before purchasing. You don’t want to end up accidentally eating dairy. 

In restaurants, be sure to check that they have a vegan cheese option.

Most places do these days, which will allow you to enjoy cheese on your vegan pizza. They tend to purchase some popular vegan cheeses, so you can be assured that they will be tasty!

Final Word 

And there you have it; pizza bases are usually vegan, dairy-free, and egg-free! You will rarely see fairy products or eggs used in a pizza base.

While they are used in French bread like Brioche or paninis, you will usually find that most bread (including pizza bases) is free of animal byproducts. 

That said, we do encourage you to check the ingredient list carefully, especially if you have allergies and are concerned about cross-contamination.

Thankfully those making pizza dough themselves won’t need to worry about adjusting the recipe; most of them will be vegan and ready for you to use!

Be sure to check out different cheeses and toppings you can use to make your vegan, dairy-free, and egg-free pizzas today!